The Honolulu City Council will conduct its inauguration ceremony on Tuesday, January 3, 2017 in the Council Chamber beginning at 12 noon. The oath of office will be administered by Hawaii Supreme Court Associate Justice Sabrina McKenna.  The ceremony will be part of the Council’s first official meeting of 2017.  The meeting is open to the public.


“We look forward to welcoming our newly re-elected Councilmembers, whom the voters declared deserved another term in office,” said Council Chair Ernest Martin. Re-elected Councilmembers taking the oath are:  Kymberly Marcos Pine (Council District 1), Vice Chair Ikaika Anderson (District 3), Ann Kobayashi (District 5), Joey Manahan (District 7), and Ron Menor (District 9).


Former Hawaii Governor John Waihee will deliver the Message of Aloha. Hawaii’s Ambassador of Aloha, Danny Kaleikini, and the Royal Hawaiian Band Glee Club will provide entertainment.  Kaleikini will also perform the ‘oli (chant) to open the proceedings.


Seating for the Council’s specially invited guests will start at around 11:00 a.m.; seating for the general public will commence at 11:50 a.m.


Public parking for the event will be limited, with some spaces available in the City’s Municipal Parking Lot at the Civic Center (entrance on South Street). Reserved parking spaces for the event are along clearly marked portions of South King and Punchbowl streets, and Mission Lane, close to Honolulu Hale.


The ceremony will be televised live over `Olelo Community Television on Oceanic Cable Channel 54.


Questions regarding the details of the event may be directed to Doug Chun, Office of Council Services, at (808) 768-3869.


# # #